Shrimp & Broccoli with Barilla ProteinPlus Spaghetti

BzzAgent sent me 2 boxes of Barilla ProteinPLUS pasta.  I love that this pasta has added protein which is what is great to keep me full and energized.

  • This pasta is loaded with 17 grams of protein in a 3.5 oz portion.
  • Crafted with simple ingredients, like flaxseed, barley and oats
  • Made with protein-rich chickpeas, lentils and egg whites
  • Great source of fiber ( 7 grams)  and ALA omega-3

I recently bought shrimp and received this pasta just in time to make something delicious!

BarillaUS ProteinPLUS Shrimp & broccoli

Ingredients I used: 

  • Barilla ProteinPLUS spaghetti
  • Shrimp ( 12 oz)
  • Lemon ( lemon juice)
  • Broccoli
  • Butter
  • Olive Oil
  • Salt & Pepper
  • Red Pepper Flakes
  • Parmesan Cheese
  • Garlic Powder ( or minced garlic)
  • Italian Seasonings

 

Add water to a big pot, add salt, bring to a boil. Add pasta to boiling water. Boil for 10 minutes. Drain.

Cut & steam broccoli. I drained the broccoli added olive oil, a little butter, & some seasonings in the pan and then placed the broccoli on top. Stirred until mixed.

BarillaProteinPlusShrimp1

Add about a tablespoon olive oil. Add shrimp. Add salt, pepper, garlic powder, red pepper flakes ( be careful) ,  Italian seasonings, 2 tablespoons of butter.  Once pink I added lemon juice from half a lemon. I also added some parmesan cheese.  Turn off

BarillaProteinPlusShrimp

( You can add more oil and butter to make more ‘sauce’ ) When pasta was done I added a couple of tablespoons of the pasta water to the pan as well.

You can add all of these ingredients to the same pan if you wish but I chose to keep them separate .

Put in a bowl , add as much or little of everything you want. Sprinkle with parmesan cheese! YUM!

This dish was delicious. My friend Shawn also had a bowl and loved the pasta ( I even got him to eat more broccoli than normal)

I too enjoyed this dish. The pasta, I think ,added a little flavor to this dish..maybe a little ‘nutty’ . It tasted great & was filling. I didn’t feel bloated after eating it or heavy.  Definitely will add this to my diet when I have pasta. I’m a huge fan of the ingredients… lentils, chick peas, barley, egg whites.

 

Have you tried Barilla ProteinPLUS pasta? Whats your favorite pasta dish?

  • I received this product for free complimentary from BzzAgent for review purposes. All opinions are my own.

 

Leave a Reply

