Some of my go to quick, easy, delicious meals

Here are some of my go to meals for when I want something good.

Chicken Quesadilla

IMG_9186

Most of the time I have most of these ingredients at home. These are great for lunch or dinner.

  • Chicken
  • Tortillas
  • cheese
  • seasoning ( i used taco but feel free to use  fajita seasoning or even just salt & pepper)
  • veggies on hand . I used an orange & green bell pepper
  • avocado
  • salsa
  • oil

I like chicken tender since they cook faster. I add them to pan with a little oil.  As they are cooking I diced and added the bell peppers.

I then added the taco seasoning. Once the chicken was cooked I diced them up and put them back in the pan.

preheat oven to about 350

Next take a tortilla and place it on a baking sheet. Sprinkle a little cheddar cheese on half of the tortilla. Add chicken & veggie mix on top. Sprinkle a little more cheese. Fold over tortilla. If it doesn’t stay put , add a toothpick.

Place in oven and wait until it gets golden brown. I mash up an avocado & salsa to spread on top! Yum!

Roasted tomato soup

Tomatosoup

I shared this long ago when I first started this blog. Its still one of my favorites. Its very easy to make and healthy too!

If your store has a discount shelf for produce check there for the tomatoes. They are the best for this recipe.

  • 6 overripe tomatoes, diced
  • medium onion, diced
  • 3 cloves of garlic , minced
  • 2 bay leaves
  • thyme ( if fresh use 2 sprigs)
  • 10 peppercorns ( feel free to use regular pepper)
  • 1 teaspoon of salt
  • 1 teaspoon of sugar
  • 1/4 up of olive oil
  • 8 basil leaves ( can use dried)
  • 2 cups + of vegetable or chicken broth
  • Optional * add beans at the end white beans are best chickpeas, cannellini , ect
  • Optional * dice a red bell pepper when you roast

Preheat the over to 375. In a large roasting pan add everything but the broth & basil for about 45 minutes until carmelized.

Let it cool down if you are using a blender. I do this different each time sometimes I will add the roasted tomato mixture and little broth to the blender or sometime just add the broth to the mixture then add to the blender. Whichever works for you.

Puree until smooth or your desired consistency. Add beans to make this healthier and even more filling.

Black Bean Burgers

Blackbeanburgers

Black bean burgers are sooo good! I love making them for people who might thin ‘healthy food’ isn’t flavorful , filling, satisfying. These are always a hit.  These do take a bit longer because of the dicing, blending, forming but well worth it.

  • black beans ( 2 x 15oz cans)
  • mushrooms handful
  • red bell pepper 1
  • 1 egg
  • oatmeal 1/2- 3/4 cups
  • cheese
  • spinach
  • salsa
  • avocado
  • onion rolls
  • salt, pepper, paprika, garlic powder, onion powder

Place about 1- 1.5 cans of beans ( drained) into a blender, mushrooms, oatmeal, seasonings, egg until somewhat smooth. place in a bowl and add the rest of the beans . If the mixture is a little watery, add more oatmeal.

Form into patties and place on a baking sheet, I sprayed some coconut oil  before placing them on the sheet.

In a preheated oven ( 350) place the patties in and cook for about 20-30 minutes , until firm.  If you want cheese the last few minutes add it, place back in oven until its melted.

I toast an onion roll, put down some spinach, add a patty, then make an avocado salsa mash on top.

I usually serve it with broccoli or zucchini ( or any veggie) & then make oven fries. One burger will fill you up. Left overs are the best !

Kale Chips

Kalechips

I need a huge oven to make these haha I LOVE kale chips. I devour them . Wash and dry kale. Break into pieces. Add a little olive oil to coat the kale. Sprinkle salt.

Place on a baking sheet and into a preheated oven about 350-375 . Keep an eye on them , they cook quickly 5-10 minutes. I once made a batch for a friend to try and she took to long and I ate the whole batch haha I had to make another one.

Tortellini with a ‘rustic’ sauce

Buitoni

It was late, I was hungry, and there was a deal on Buitoni pasta. I wanted something quick but good..taste and nutrition wise. I saw chicken & prociutto  tortellini . I thought it sounded  interesting.  As I was boiling the tortellini I made a sauce to go with it.

Chopped up 3 plum tomatoes, mushrooms, spinach, olive oil, salt, pepper, garlic, a little sugar. Cook until your desired consistency. Before adding the sauce I tried a tortellini , it was really good. Added the sauce and it complimented it well.

You don’t always have to cook from scratch to have something good.  A mix of premade and from scratch is always a time saver and one of my favorite things to do when cooking.

What’s your favorite quick or healthy meal?

Leave a Reply

