Chicken , Rice, & Veggies one pot meal

This was a comfort meal for me. When I was younger , my mom would make chicken, rice, veggies. I topped my chicken with gravy but then I would just mix it up after I cut my chicken into bite size pieces.

So my then my mom started making it just like that. This meal sort of reminds me of that.

This hit the spot and with only a few ingredients dinner will be done in no time. Feel free to add more veggies

chicken & rice

Ingredients:

  • 1lb chicken ( I used boneless skinless tenders) cut into bite size pieces
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 3 carrots, diced
  • medium head of broccoli, chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 1/2 cup of rice
  • 2 cups of chicken stock ( makes this very flavorful) or water
  • salt
  • pepper

 

Heat oil in pan . Once hot, add chicken . Add salt & pepper.

Sautee for about 7-8 minutes

Add onion to put, sautee for 3 minutes

Add carrots to put, turn heat to low.

Add garlic ,& broth ( or water)

Add rice to the pot, no need to stir it in just make sure its covered by the liquid.

Add broccoli on top

Cover the pot for 30 minutes & let it simmer. Check on it , add more liquid if needed.

When there is no more liquid ( rice is cooked) Its done.

Serve in a bowl & enjoy.

*For mine I used Zatarain’s broccoli rice mix and forgot to measure it. I realized it was a little short so I added quinoa to the pot.

** Tip: Want a quick soup?  This is perfect. Add the olive oil, then chicken ( salt & pepper). Add onion, celery, carrots, garlic, & chicken broth.Add egg noodles and you have a quick yummy soup.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

