Chicken Barley Soup

Though I eat it year round, soup is the best in the colder months.

Chicken Barley Soup

I make my soup different each time depending what I have in the fridge.

I usually make soup the day after I have rotisserie chicken. Since the chicken is gone, I usually don’t put it in my soup. If there is chicken left I put it in a different container and add it in when I make a bowl. Sometimes I want it in my soup, sometimes I don’t.

I start if off first by adding carrots, onion, celery. Dice them up, put some oil in the pan and sautee until almost soft. Add some salt & pepper.
Once done take out of pot and put in a container or bowl.

I switch between :

Adding water to the pot and adding the whole rotisserie chicken. Then add salt, pepper, thyme, onion salt, oregano, garlic powder. Depends what I feel like. My new favorite is Bell’s seasoning ( blend of thyme, rosemary, oregano, sage, ginger, marjoram, & pepper)since it has many herbs & spices in one container.

or

I use chicken broth/stock from a carton ( about 2-3) & add the seasonings.

I then simmer that for maybe an hour.

I take the rotisserie chicken out of the pot.
Skim the top for any fat.
Add the carrots, onion, celery.

Keep tasting to see what seasonings you need.

Once the vegetables are done. I turn it off and make a bowl.

I make rice, pasta, barley in a separate pot. So you can add as much or little as you want. Also when it sits over night it doesn’t suck up the broth.

The one thing I love about soup is you can customize it. Some of my favorites to add to soup are:
mushrooms
spinach
tomato (can of diced tomatoes)
chickpeas
kidney beans
garlic

What are your favorite foods to put in soup?

Leave a Reply

