Taco Chicken with Black Bean Pasta

Awhile ago I received a coupon from Sampler for a free bag of Explore Asian pasta. I went to their site and found out Whole Foods carried their products & ended up choosing black bean spaghetti.

I LOVE black beans. They were the gateway bean to all the other beans lol

I don’t know why I didn’t use this pasta sooner, I actually received another coupon ….maybe that what made me think of it. So I said I need to use it today.

This dish is really easy & simple to make.

tacochickenblackbeanpasta

What you need:
Explore Asian Organic Black Bean Spaghetti
1 lb boneless skinless chicken
taco seasoning
Avocado
Cumin
Salt
Chili Powder
Garlic Powder
Pepper
Lime
Cheddar Cheese
Large tomato
Frozen Corn ( optional)

Get a big pot , fill with water and some salt
Bring to a boil
When it is boiling, add the black bean pasta.
It should be done in about 7-10 minutes.
Drain pasta, run under cold water.

I put the pot that I used for the pasta & put a little coconut oil in it.
Once hot I added thinly sliced boneless chicken breast .

As that was cooking I diced up a large tomato.

Flip chicken, added taco seasoning ( feel free to use homemade taco seasoning) – add 3/4 cup water

Add tomatoes
I had a little left over frozen corn I wanted to use up and put that in the pot as well.

Sauce:
I cut an avocado in half
You can use a whole avocado, I just did half and put it in a bowl
Add cumin, garlic powder, salt, pepper, chili powder, & juice from half of a lime, little bit of water.
I mashed it with a forked until there were no clumps, feel free to use a blender. I was trying to use little dishes as possible haha

I wanted my sauce on the thicker side but feel free to play around with lime/ water if you want yours thinner. Play around with seasonings as well. Make it to your taste.

Diced up other half of avocado

When chicken is done I took the piece out and cut into bite size piece, put back in pot.

Mix some of the pasta with avocado sauce.
I put a little cheddar cheese on top
Topped with chicken, tomato, corn taco mixture.
Add some diced avocado.
* squeeze some lime juice if wanted

You can also add the diced tomato afterwards instead of cooking it in the mixture. I just don’t like uncooked/ cold tomatoes.

I wasn’t sure what to think when I took my first bite. The pasta is has more bite to it than regular pasta. I liked it. For me it definitely needs to have some sort of sauce with it, I don’t think I would eat it alone. I love that its packed with protein, iron & fiber.

About the organic black bean pasta:

Made with 92% black beans 8% water
25 grams of protein in every serving
12 grams of fiber in every serving
Calories per Serving 180
Vegan
Gluten free
Organic

Find Explore Asian on:
Website
Facebook


Have you had black bean pasta before?

Leave a Reply

