Silk Dairy- free yogurt alternative review #lovemysilk

Silk is one of my go to brands for almond milk or cashew milk. Did you know they have a dairy free yogurt?
They are high in protein, low in fat, high in calcium & potassium, a little high in sugar ( from fruit).

Benefits:
•6 grams of plant-powered protein (soy)
•Free of cholesterol, dairy, lactose, gluten, carrageenan or casein
•No artificial colors, flavors or funny business
•Excellent source of Calcium and Vitamin D
•Vegetarian
•Low in saturated fat
•Enrolled in the Non-GMO Project’s product verification program
•No high-fructose corn syrup

6 flavors to choose from: ( may vary at your store)
Peach Mango
Blueberry
Strawberry
Vanilla
Tropical Pineapple
Black cherry

BzzAgent hooked me up with a coupon for a free cup and I went to the store to pick my flavor. I knew where they were because I always get Silk Almondmilk & its in the same area.

I went for the tropical pineapple since its one of my favorites to get when I get my Greek yogurt.
5.3 oz – 140 calories

SilkYogurt2

I opened it up and it was a light tan color. I stirred it and realized it was thin ( which is why I stopped eating yogurt long time ago until I found out about Greek yogurt) & there was barely any fruit chunks ( though I know they add more sugar to the yogurt).

I took a spoonful and put it in my mouth. It was creamy but I just didn’t like how thin it was. I prefer my yogurt to be thicker. It didn’t have much of a pineapple flavor like I was expecting and left an after taste of soy, which was weird. Perhaps it was the pineapple & soy combo that I didn’t like , I don’t know. I was expecting a little more from this yogurt.

Next I tried out blueberry 5.3 oz 140 calories
SilkBlueberry

This one tasted a little bit better the soy & blueberry combo was good but still the weird aftertaste. I had a few more blueberry chunks which I liked. The color was more representative of the flavor a nice purple hue.

Final flavor Strawberry because who doesn’t like strawberry. 5.3 oz 130 calories

Strawberry Silk Yogurt

This one is definitely my favorite of the 3 flavors I tried. For me I could taste the soy in all of them but I feel like the strawberry & soy worked well together and wasn’t as noticeable. I would eat this flavor again. There were small bits of strawberries mixed in though I wish there was more or they were bigger.

Overall I think these are a good alternative if you already eat and/or drink soy products and are dairy free or just want a dairy free product. These are also a little pricier than my normal yogurt ($1.49) and don’t really see them on sale that much. I didn’t love them but didn’t hate them either.After trying the strawberry, I do want to try the cherry now. I don’t see me buying these in place of my regular yogurt but if I see a good deal on them I might consider it. Yogurt is great to have on hand, I like having it for breakfast, snack, even a treat/dessert. I would highly recommend the Strawberry & the blueberry a close second if you do choose to try them out.

There is a $.55 & $1 off 3 coupon here . Make sure to go to the left, click on Silk to get to them easily.

Which flavor(s) do you want to try? Have you spotted these in your store? Have you tried it?

I received this product for free, all opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

