Loaded Potato Soup

I don’t eat creamy stuff to offer , bacon , or even potatoes but I was in the mood for some potato soup.
I also wanted to try out Swanson Cream Starter that Crowdtap sent me awhile back.

IMG_0698-1

What you need:
•Swanson Cream Starter
•1 lb potatoes cut into bite size pieces ( about 1/2 inch)
• Onion, large , diced
• Cheddar cheese , shredded
• Scallions or chives , chopped
• Bacon about 8 slices
• Garlic , minced
• Seasonings : salt, pepper, paprika, onion powder, garlic powder

You can find the recipe on their site here I added the caramelized onions, garlic powder, onion powder & paprika,

In a pot cook bacon until crisp ( you can dice before or after , I cut them up after )

Remove bacon , drain on paper towels

Keep 2 tablespoons of the dripping in pot , pour out the rest.

I caramelized the onion ( you can do this before the bacon or in another pan)

Add diced potatoes & caramelized onion into pot with bacon drippings.

I added paprika, salt , pepper.

Cook until tender-crisp (5-10 minutes) stirring occasionally.

Add garlic and stir for 1 minute.

Stir in cream starter & heat to boil. Reduce heat to low . Cover and cook for 20 minutes or until potatoes are tender.

Stir occasionally

I added garlic powder, onion powder

Taste it I thought it needed a little more salt , pepper, paprika.
(Season to your liking)

Stir in half the diced bacon and cheddar cheese. I also added one scallion chopped.

( this is where is get good and gooey)

Sprinkle with bacon and scallions (and cheese)

I was quite surprised with the cream starter .

IMG_0705-0
Yum

IMG_0706

Have you seen or used Swanson’s Cream starter? What do you like putting in or topping your potato soup with?

Leave a Reply

