Yummy Black Bean Burger

IMG_0668

What you need:
2 cans of black beans ( need 1.5 cans) drained & rinsed
Oatmeal 1/2-3/4 cups
Mushrooms about 1 1/2 -2 cups
minced garlic
Red bell pepper ( I only used 1/4 of it)
1 Egg
Cheese
Avocado
Salsa
Spinach
Hamburger buns
Olive oil
Seasonings & spices I used salt, pepper, paprika, garlic powder, onion powder

I found the recipe on Women’s Health , I changed & added some stuff. That’s one thing I love about cooking. You can play around with flavors based on what you like. Make swaps, add seasonings, have fun & experiment while cooking!

*I found the recipe it was a little to watery and mushy. So I added some more oatmeal and mushrooms.

Place half the black beans, mushrooms, oatmeal, garlic, seasonings, & egg in a blender or food processor until mixed. Add other half of black beans and pulse until mixed or you can just stir so they don’t break up.I like when some black beans are whole.

You can either make these in a pan, grill pan or like I did oven.
Preheat oven to 350
Coat a cookie sheet with olive oil or cooking spray. Form patties and place on cookie sheet.
Put in oven for about 20-30 minutes. You want them to be firm.
If you want cheese, add cheese the last few minutes until melted.

I toasted my onion bun, placed spinach on top, placed black bean burger, top with avocado salsa mash.

I took half and avocado mash with fork until your desired consistency ( i like it a bit chunky) and added 1-2 tablespoons of salsa.

I served mine with sauteeed zucchini.

ENJOY!

IMG_0679

Have you tried or made a black been burger before? How did you like it?

Leave a Reply

