Winterize your nails tips & tricks

A coordinator from Julep asked if I would write a blog post about winterizing my nails. I never thought about it because it’s become a habit, especially when I do nail art.
If you’re new to my blog, last year I posted Holiday themed nail art daily in December.
Holidays nails 1

Holidays Nails 2

Holiday Nails 3

I can definitely see a difference when seasons change and chilly weather sets in. My cuticles become drier. When it’s cold we move between the cold weather outside and hot, dry air inside which really reduces the moisture in our nails and skin.
This can cause nails to break and chip. One thing I hate is getting a manicure or doing my nails and a nail breaks. Ahhh!
Other things we might be doing that dries out our hands and nails in colder months is using hand sanitizer and hot showers.

Julep came up this tutorial and tips to keep your nails looking healthy and moisturized.
WinterizeYourNails

So what do in the winter?

•I always make sure I’m stocked up on lotion to moisturize my hands and skin. Travel size lotions are great to have in your purse.Make sure to massage lotion into nails.

•Diet is always crucial. Make sure you are drinking plenty of water , and eating lots of veggies and fruit to stay hydrated and get those vitamins.

•At night I like rubbing cuticle cream before bed. I like Burts Bees lemon butter cuticle creme

Here are some products I use to keep my nails looking good in the winter .

IMG_9554.JPG

Tips
*No cuticle cream? Use a little bit of olive oil and massage into nails
*Bothersome hangnail? Use your lip balm and massage until you can cut it.
*Always wear your gloves when outside.
*Make sure to wear rubber gloves when cleaning .
*Give your nails a nail polish break between colors.
*When filing nails go in one direction and go all around (on sides)

Here I used Julep Kayla and Revlon Sterling . I really like doing this design because it’s simple but pretty.

IMG_9557.JPG

Need some nail color inspiration for the winter ? Check out these great colors below or on Juelp’s website here
I love Kiki and Sawyer.

TrendingWInterColors_2

What are your tips & tricks for healthy nails all winter long?

41 thoughts on “Winterize your nails tips & tricks

  1. These are great tips, I am an old nail biter, stopped years ago and still learning best care for my nails all year round. Glad to have some tips to use this season!

  2. I’m not really adventurous on styling my nails but I will give it a try. Aside from your guide I may ask my sister who’s an expert on nail art for her opinion.

  3. I never stopped to consider what the change of weather meant to my nails. I like the tip about olive oil if you don’t have cream.

  4. I didn’t know that drinking water would have an effect on nail care. Another reason for me to drink more. i would also like to take more chances with my nail color…I usually stick with neutral or light pink shades.

Leave a Reply

