Zucchini pasta with cannellini ‘meatballs’

I wasn’t sure what I wanted for dinner so I went to Pinterest .

I was thinking of making zucchini boats , maybe a turkey burger, Sothwest bowl. Nothing caught my attention. I was thinking of making zucchini pasta and turkey meatballs but decided I wanted to have a meatless meal.
I put in vegetarian and right as I was about to say forget it I came across
Cannellini bean vegetarian mealballs

20140712-001908-1148197.jpg

What you need::
2 zucchini for the pasta (I’m getting good use out of the spiralizer )

•1 1/2 cans of cannellini beans 15oz each
•1 red bell pepper (roasted)
•1/2 med yellow onion , diced small or grated
•2 cloves of garlic , minced
•1/4 c chopped italian parsley
•1 1/2 tsp dried oregano ( I used italian seasoning)
•1 egg
•1/2 c dried bread crumbs (I used Panko)
•Salt and pepper
• tomato sauce (I used Newmans Own tomato & basil)

First I roasted the red pepper
The red pepper gives the ‘meatballs’ a great flavor

20140712-002136-1296351.jpg

1: Preheat oven to 350, coat baking sheet with cooking spray / olive oil

2: Add beans, roasted red pepper , and onion to food processor or blender. Pulse until chopped and not smoothly puréed .

3: transfer to bowl and mix in garlic, bread crumbs, oregano, egg, parsley, salt & pepper until combined.

4: Form small meatballs and place on baking sheet evenly spaced.

5: Bake until firm to touch and are golden brown. About 20 minutes

6: While that is cooking use spiralizer to make zucchini pasta. Add to boiling water for about 5 minutes . You want a little bite to it .

7: In saucepan add tomato sauce until simmering. When ‘meatballs’ are done add to sauce and stir to coat them.

8: serve over your zucchini pasta . Feel free to sprinkle with Parmesan cheese

20140712-003415-2055203.jpg

20140712-003412-2052728.jpg

Leave a Reply

