Turkey and Barley skillet – one pot meal

This recipe popped up on my facebook newsfeed via Shape magazine called “Healthy one pot meals”

I hate messes ( who doesn’t?) , so to throw all ingredients in a pot seemed like a good idea.

Their recipe was Beef & Barley Skillet but I just switched the meat for ground turkey.

Was really easy to make. I also like that it was a “hearty” meal, filled me up .

The carrots still had a bite to them and the zucchini wasn’t mushy either.

Definitely will make this again.

P.S I promise once i move my presentations will be better 😉
20131107-202257.jpg

* I cut my carrots & zucchini into quarter pieces.

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound lean ground beef ( or turkey/chicken)
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 15 ounces low-sodium beef broth ( I used chicken)
  • 8 ounces tomato sauce
  • 1 cup water
  • 2 medium carrots, chopped
  • 1 small tomato, chopped
  • 1 small zucchini, chopped
  • 1 cup medium pearl barley
  • 2 teaspoons Italian seasoning
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper

Directions:

Place a large skillet over medium heat. Add ground beef and onion, and cook 6 to 8 minutes. Drain if necessary. Add garlic and cook 1 minute. Add broth, tomato sauce, and water, and bring to boil. Stir in vegetables, barley, and seasonings. Reduce heat, cover, and simmer 45 to 50 minutes until barley is tender.

** My edits I didn’t use water I just put a little more tomato sauce/broth

I also chopped up some mushrooms.

Remember you can always change a recipe for the way you like it, don’t be scared to switch something out.

Leave a Reply

